La La Land

Ah La La Land, a review that I couldn’t wait to write. I first saw this wonderful movie when it came to TIFF in September 2016 and it already had a ton of hype after premiering at some festivals before it. I hate having high expectations going into a movie because I always end up disappointed, but man this one is different. It somehow managed to exceed my already high expectations. I recently watched it again just to refresh my memory for this review (and also I wanted an excuse to see it a second time).

La La Land tells the story of Mia (played by Emma Stone), who is a struggling actress, and Sebastian (played by Ryan Gosling), who is a struggling piano player and jazz enthusiast. It’s a story of trying to achieve your dreams, and doing what ever it takes in order to get there. It is also of course a love story, as well as a musical.

Okay, let’s get right down to the “nitty gritty”, I friggin love this movie! I’ve see it twice and would happily see it again and again. I think one thing to take into consideration here, is that I LOVE musicals. The music in this movie is so unbelievably good. I have the soundtrack on my iPod and can’t stop dancing around singing it. I also get chills while listening to it, which I think is a good sign. The dancing is is incredible as well. The opening scene that takes place on a Los Angeles freeway literally feels like you’re watching a Tony award winning musical on Broadway, it’s that good. La La Land has big musical numbers with lots of actors (i.e. “Another Day of Sun” and “Someone in the Crowd”), as well as softer, more intimate numbers (i.e. “City of Stars” and “Audition (The Fool’s Who Dream)”). The combination of this makes for such an enjoyable experience watching this movie.

The entire tone of the movie that Damien Chazelle (the director and writer) achieves in La La Land is so inspirational. The colours, lighting, costumes, and the beauty of Los Angeles that all come together in this movie is breath taking. Chazelle, who is only 32 I might add, is a damn genius. I mean Whiplash, and now this. The man can do no wrong.

Finally, the wonderful actors Emma Stone and Ryan Gosling, everyone’s favourite dynamic duo. These two always pair so well together, especially in this movie. If I had to spend the rest of my life seeing these two sing and dance together on a daily basis, I would have lived a pretty good life (okay maybe that was a stretch, but you get the point!) Emma Stone brings so much to her character Mia, probably because she can relate so much to her. She has such an incredible voice, and truly gives an amazing performance. While Gosling may not have the most amazing singing voice of all time (I’m sorry!), his dance moves and piano skills shine through and he makes his character Sebastian so damn likeable.

If you like musicals, I promise you will like this movie. I kind of wanted to pretend that I didn’t like this movie and claim it was “overrated” blah blah, but I can’t. I love it.

I’m so excited to see with what happens with La La Land at the Academy Awards. Will it take home all 14 awards that its nominated for? Time will tell and I can’t wait!

 

Thanks for reading !

 

You do you.

That Awkward Gal

 

 

Leave a Reply

